Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: Daily Pilot HomeCollectionsInspections
IN THE NEWS

Inspections

RELATED KEYWORDS:
NEWS
September 19, 2007
The city of Costa Mesa now has new stricter standards for subdividing rental apartments and multi-unit industrial parks for sale to individual owners after the City Council’s Tuesday approval of a set of new rules. Before building owners can sell off individual units, they’ll now have to get extensive inspections to show the buildings are in good condition. They’ll have to provide a set amount of parking or apply for a waiver, and they’ll have to meet a long list of standards regarding landscaping, open space and other amenities.
Advertisement
NEWS
December 10, 2010
If you have city business in Newport Beach, you better get it done before Christmas. From Dec. 24 through Dec. 31, City Hall, the libraries, and recreation programs will be closed. Offices re-open Jan. 3. Newport Beach police, fire and marine departments, along with trash collection and street sweeping, will still operate as scheduled. There will be no street sweeping on Dec. 24, 30 or 31. The closures save the city money on employee leave time and utility and maintenance costs, city officials said in a news release.
NEWS
By Len Bose | April 11, 2014
I am writing my column aboard a 757 headed to Miami in an effort to sell a 2009 Tiara 3900 power boat. As I review the boat's specification sheet, in preparation for the boat's inspections, my mind returns to a few of the observations I noticed around the harbor last week. I started at the Newport Beach boat show at Lido Village, and one of the first things I noticed was that most of the yacht brokers I have worked with over the past 25 years have all gotten older and seem to be pulling their pants higher.
NEWS
By Jill Cowan and Lauren Williams | September 24, 2013
Second story in an occasional series about Costa Mesa's troubled motels. On a typical weekend evening at the Costa Mesa Motor Inn, kids scamper through the labyrinthine courtyard as pairs of neighbors lean on walkway railings, smoking and chatting in the fading light. Potted plants sit on window sills and on air conditioning units mounted on the stucco walls. Colorful, makeshift curtains cover windows. Inside one of the rooms, the odor from decades of people smoking cigarettes wafts from the carpet with each step and then lingers in the generic floral bedspread.
NEWS
November 25, 2003
On Sunday, Nov. 9, my family and I encountered a vehicle inspection stop on Fairview Avenue conducted by the Costa Mesa Police Department. A sign had been placed at the San Diego Freeway overpass telling motorists that they would need to show their driver's licenses and/or vehicle registration forms for their cars. I was alarmed by this action. The stopping of vehicles to search for a driver's license or vehicle registration form without probable cause seems to be a violation of our civil rights, particularly those rights under the 4th Amendment.
NEWS
October 19, 2002
-- Deirdre Newman UCI earth scientist named endowed chair UC Irvine atmospheric scientist Michael Prather, one of the world's top experts in global climate change, has been named the Fred Kavli Endowed Chair in Earth System Science. The position was created with a $1-million gift from The Kavli Foundation, founded by Santa Barbara entrepreneur Fred Kavli. The foundation gave the gift to the Department of Earth System Science so that an internationally prominent researcher in the geosciences could hold the new chair.
NEWS
April 13, 2005
Marisa O'Neil and Alicia Robinson Problems including unsafe kennels, poor drainage, rodent infestation and improperly disposed-of animal carcasses have been rectified at the city's contracted animal shelter, but an oversight committee should keep tabs on the facility, City Council members heard Tuesday. The council held a study session Tuesday to examine what improvements have been made at the Orange County Humane Society in Huntington Beach since former volunteers accused shelter administrators last September of improperly caring for animals.
NEWS
November 8, 2003
Marisa O'Neil State inspectors complimented the Newport-Mesa Unified School District after reviewing several of its government-funded programs this week. A team from the California Department of Education found only one program not in compliance after checking Estancia High School, TeWinkle Middle School, Wilson Elementary School and Harper Child Development Center to make sure they are using the funds properly. A sampling of schools in each district in the state gets audited every four years to ensure compliance with federal and state regulations.
OCNOW
From the Los Angeles Times | October 4, 2012
Southern California Edison wants to restart one of the two reactors at its San Onofre nuclear plant, which has been shuttered for eight months over safety concerns, officials said Thursday. The plant's Unit 2 reactor was offline for routine inspections and maintenance when a steam generator tube in Unit 3 sprung a leak on Jan. 31, releasing a small amount of radioactive steam. That led to the discovery that the tubes in the newly replaced steam generators were wearing out more quickly than expected, including some that showed an unusual type of wear caused by tubes rubbing against adjacent tubes.
NEWS
By Joseph Serna, joseph.serna@latimes.com | May 4, 2011
Editor's note: This corrects the headline, subhead and outcome of the signage ordinance. COSTA MESA — The city could spend upward of $180,000 for modernizing the development services department, from a new website to expanded online tools and equipment for code enforcement. In a unanimous vote Tuesday night, the City Council approved including $130,000 in its preliminary budget to install a wireless connection and software between city workers in the field and the city's in-house network for code enforcement and building inspections.
Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles
|