Ojai Tennis Tournament: Brymer wins third straight title

University senior makes history, winning his third straight Ojai title Saturday. Trojans also win Griggs Cup again; Adamson loses in semis.

April 27, 2013|By Matt Szabo

OJAI — The Ojai Tennis Tournament is a special trip every year for standout CIF Southern Section tennis players.

Everyone enjoys making the trek to the small town of about 8,000 people, located about 83 miles northwest of Los Angeles. Libbey Park, in the middle of town, is hopping all weekend.

The tournament is in its 113th year. A list of past champions reads like a who's who of tennis.

Someday, people may look at University High senior Gage Brymer on that list. They may say they saw him on the last weekend of April, 2013, when he made history at "The Ojai."


He's on a first-name basis here. Just mention "Gage," and near everyone on the grounds knows who you're talking about.

The UCLA-bound Brymer won his third straight CIF Singles division title Saturday, defeating Torrey Pines freshman Taylor Fritz, 6-3, 6-0, in the championship match. Brymer became the third player to win the division three times in a row, the first since Bobby Riggs in 1934-36.

Fritz had topped CdM senior Alec Adamson, 6-1, 6-4, in a semifinal match earlier Saturday. In the final, the talented freshman just ran into a buzzsaw. Brymer grinned widely, pumping his fist toward his parents, Chuck and Mary, after the final point.

"It's so special, it's so important to me," Brymer said. "High school tennis is a big deal to me and my school, and coming to Ojai, this is one of the staples of our season. It's one of the best tournaments I play in general, not just in high school. So being able to come back and win for the third time is a really, really big deal."

University also win the Griggs Trophy, awarded to the high school team that performs the best in singles and doubles, for the fourth straight year. The Trojans' Drew Dawson and Tyler Lu captured the doubles title over Daniel Gealer and Robert Carter of San Marino, 3-6, 6-3, 6-3.

Only Santa Barbara (1990-95 and 2005-2009) and La Jolla (1971-74) also have won the Griggs Trophy four straight years.

Brymer was dominant throughout the tournament, winning all 12 of his sets. The closest set was 6-3. Brymer, who recently won the Easter Bowl and is also a two-time CIF Individuals champion, has not lost a high school match since his sophomore year. University Coach John Kessler said it couldn't happen to a better kid.

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles