(Page 2 of 2)

Barnett, Fisher named to CIF-SS Hall of Fame

Legendary Newport Harbor water polo coach and Costa Mesa cross country head man among 10 who will be honored in the fall.

July 03, 2012|By Steve Virgen

Fisher set a high standard while coaching at Costa Mesa. His cross country teams were phenomenal from 1969 to 1980. His Costa Mesa boys' teams built a 10-year league dual-meet winning streak. Fisher's boys also captured several invitational victories and a CIF Southern Section 3-A championship in 1976.

Fisher later coached at NAIA Fort Hays State University in Kansas, NCAA Division III State University of New York at Geneseo and NCAA Division II Moorhead State in Minnesota.

Fisher, who also coached the Mesa girls to several league titles, guided the Mustang boys to an unprecedented six Orange County Championships in his tenure.


"I'll always remember those teams," Fisher said in 2002 when he was recognized by the Daily Pilot in its sports hall of fame. "Those kids really worked hard and had a great love for running and each other. They were just one big family."

Fisher, who compiled a 209-8 dual-meet record at Costa Mesa, was named California High School Cross Country Coach of the Year in 1978 and started the Southern California CIF Cross Country Coaches' Assn. in 1974, when he served as the first president.

As a collegiate coach, Fisher guided 53 All-American runners and 26 Academic All-Americans, including 34 All-Americans in seven years at Fort Hays State.

Fisher retired after 37 years of coaching in 1999, following seven years at Moorhead State.

Fleming, a member and the ladies golf champion at Newport Beach Country Club, guided Los Alamitos to three CIF section titles in girls' swimming. She also led the Griffins to a CIF section title in girls' tennis. She is retired after teaching physical eduation at Los Al for 20 years.

The rest of the CIF Southern Section Hall of Fame awardees include Rick Brodbeck (Gladstone), Bob Hitchcock (Temple City), Ron Massey (Jordan), Joe Reza, Jr. (Los Amigos), Roger Takahashi (Los Amigos), Jimmy Zepeda (official).

The Distinguished Service awardees are: Nancy Aandahl (Baldwin Park), Bruce Belcher (Edison), Shirley Frazier (CIF Southern Section office), Marie Ishida (State CIF office), Charlie LaCommare (Bell Gardens), Mark Le Duc (TLC Sportswear), Cheryl Milner (Paraclete), Jim Staunton (CIF Southern Section office), Jim Taylor (Yucaipa).

Twitter: @SteveVirgen

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles