Advertisement

Follow Daily Pilot staff on Twitter

Stories will follow Los Angeles Times Sports style of including handles and email addresses at end of stories.

September 15, 2011|By Joanna Clay

The Daily Pilot has long been on Twitter, but now its entire reporting and much of its editing staff is as well.

Individual members of the staff have been using the social media network, but reporters and editors have created professional handles so readers can follow their work.

In an effort to serve the community on multiple platforms — which includes print, the website, OC Now, Facebook and Twitter (@thedailypilot) — individual reporters will now be accessible on Twitter, and followers can read stories, get updates and give feedback.

Advertisement

The Twitter handles will be published along with reporters' email addresses beneath stories. Freelance writers, such as the newspaper's columnists, will use the @thedailypilot account, where most of the newspapers stories are tweeted.

"We want to reach our readers wherever they are — on their phones, computers, tablets and, of course, their front porches," said John Canalis, editor of TCN South. "And now we can."

The formatting follows the approach used by Los Angeles Times Sports, which includes handles with its staff-written stories, Canalis said. The Times owns the Daily Pilot.

"We of course encourage readers to follow the entire newspaper, but we also know the community has favorite writers and we wanted to give them the option of keeping up with our talented staff," Canalis said.

The editorial staff's Twitter addresses are listed below.

Editor John Canalis: @johncanalis

City Editor Jamie Rowe: @jamierowe3

Features Editor Imran Vittachi: @ImranVittachi

Sports Editor: @SteveVirgen

Sports reporter Barry Faulkner: @BarryFaulkner5

Sports reporter David Carrillo Peñaloza: @dcpenaloza

Sports reporter Mike Sciacca: @mikesciacca

Sports reporter Matt Szabo: @mjszabo

Projects/Newport Beach reporter Mike Reicher: @mreicher

Costa Mesa reporter Joseph Serna: @josephserna

Public safety reporter Lauren Williams: @lawilliams30

Education reporter Britney Barnes: @britneyjbarnes

Business reporter Sarah Peters: @speters01

General assignment reporter Joanna Clay: @joannaclay

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles
|
|
|