Community & Clubs: Elks' Western Roundup coming soon

August 23, 2011|By Jim de Boom

The Newport Harbor Elks Lodge No. 1767 hosts its largest fundraising event of the year, the Western Roundup, on Sept. 17, according to member Gregory Hughes.

Although attendance is limited to Elks members and their guests, one of their wishes is that by letting people know what they do to help people, they might grow stronger in numbers.

This year's Western Roundup includes outdoor entertainment, games, prizes and raffles. In the evening, the party will move inside the lodge in Lido Village for a lavish barbecue tri-tip dinner and live entertainment.


The Elks support many worthy causes, have awarded millions of dollars to college-bound students, and have a dictionary project in which all third-graders in the local district receive a free dictionary. For more information, visit


Harbor Mesa Lions Club's new officers were installed recently at Rick and Kathy Blake's home in Fountain Valley. Officiating for the event was Past District Gov. Elizabeth Warren. Installed as the 2011-12 president was Carol Proctor; First and Second Vice Presidents Eileen Jensen and Cathy Waters; Secretary Barbara Hayward; Treasurer Gina Stansbury; Lion Tamer Amparo Candelario; Tail Twister Arlene Schafer; Bulletin Editor Carol Van Holt; and directors Joan Parks, Terri Stoker, Debbier Karlson, Sandi Scheafer, Lynn Seaholm, Ann McIlroy, Sally Uhlir, Lisa Knowles, Sue Seager, Monica Gilliland and Dalila Vaden.

The first meeting of the new year was on July 5, at which time the immediate past president named Proctor the 2010-11 Lion of the Year. Parks was award the Harry J. Aslan award for her contributions to youth and the community. Visitors are welcome to attend the meetings, which are at 6:30 p.m. the first Monday of each month at the Costa Mesa Country Club. For more information, visit

Costa Mesa-Newport Harbor Lions Club, known as the Fish Fry Club, installed Bob Ooten as president for 2011-12. Serving on the board with Ooten are Phil Marsch, vice president; Mike Scheafer, secretary; Mike McLlroy, treasurer; Raul Jara, tailtwister; Sri Vasudevan, lion tamer; Jim Ferryman, Ryan Ferryman, Robert Jara and Lee Gibbs as directors; and Matt Scheafer as webmaster. For more information on the Costa Mesa Newport Harbor Lions club, visit


Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles