Advertisement

Golf:

It’s time to test yourself

January 21, 2009|By JOHN REGER

It is once again time for a golf quiz about rules of the game.

The following questions are from the rules section of the United States Golf Assn. and my hope is that this will help all of us become more knowledgeable about the game of golf.

I have listed 10 questions. The answers with the applicable rule or decision follows the last question.

1. True or false? Information on matters such as the location of the hole on the putting green during play is not advice.

Advertisement

2. True or false? Time spent in playing a wrong ball is not counted in the five-minute period allowed for search for the original ball.

3. A golf ball is deemed lost if:

 A. It is not found or identified as his by the player within three minutes after the player’s side has begun to search for it.

 B. The player declares it lost.

 C. The player has made a stroke at a provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place.

4. In stroke play, a player’s ball lies through the green and a loose impediment lies within one club length of the ball in a bunker. He removes the loose impediment that causes the ball to move. What is the ruling?

 A. There is a no penalty, the ball must be played from its new location.

 B. There is a one-stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

 C. There is a two-stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

5. A player’s ball comes to rest inside a paper cup on the putting green. Then, the wind moves the paper cup with the ball inside to a new position. What is the ruling?

 A. He must play the ball from its new position since wind is not an outside agency.

 B. He must replace the ball and cup to where they lay prior to the wind blowing them.

 C. He must lift the ball and place it as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay inside the cup prior to the wind blowing it.

6. A player’s ball lies through the green but a bunker is situated between the player’s ball and the hole. Which one of the following is correct?

 A. He may remove loose impediments from the bunker and test the condition of the bunker to determine if it is feasible to putt through it.

 B. He may not remove loose impediments from the bunker but he may test the condition of the bunker to determine if it is feasible to putt through it.

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles
|
|
|