San Diego County Cup Champions:

Newport club team wins it all

May 09, 2008

SAN DIEGO — The Newport Harbor Water Polo Foundation boys’ 14-and-under team won the San Diego County Cup in dramatic fashion Sunday.

Anthony Daboub scored the game-winning goal two minutes into sudden-death overtime to lead NHWP past the SoCal club, 10-9, in the title match of the AA Division, the top level.

NHWP Coach Corey Delahunt, also the Newport Harbor High boys’ assistant coach, said it was the first time the team has won the prestigious tournament that includes 32 teams, the majority of them large clubs that field players from various areas. NHWP, on the other hand, has players solely from the Newport Beach area that will most likely attend Newport Harbor.


In the title match, NHWP trailed, 6-3, to begin the fourth period.

Farrell South, named the tournament’s MVP, scored the game-tying goal late in regulation.

NHWP goalie Koby Yokota was also selected to the all-tournament team.

The team also included: Preston Lee, Trent Hayes, Ryan Fowler, Sam Edson, Jacob Hirsch, Hank Lee and Miles Mendoza.

Delahunt said he was especially impressed with NHWP’s victory over Club Split, calling it “a huge accomplishment.”

“One of the biggest things is that we’re just a feeder program,” Delahunt said. “These clubs like So Cal and Split are clubs that get players all over the place.”

NHWP defeated Washington, 8-4, in the semifinals.

— From staff reports

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles