Anteater athletes earn recognition for academics

April 15, 2008

UC Irvine student-athletes have earned 2008 Winter Academic All-Big West Conference honors.

The 19 Anteaters recognized are spearheaded by the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams, including men’s representatives Eddie Erazo, Blaine Fletcher, Danny Giometti, Brian Johnson, David Lefstein, Cina Moheimani, Eric Nugent, Nate Rogers and Walid Wasfy, as well as women’s team members Sarah Deyoreo, Kelly Janicki; Avi Johns, Chelsea Nagata, Tanya Nielsen and Jessica Schlitz.

Women’s basketball players Kelly Cochran, Rebecca Maessen and Christina Zdenek were also honored, as was men’s basketball player Kevin Bland.

A total of 85 student-athletes from nine member institutions were recognized from the winter sports of men’s and women’s basketball, and men’s and women’s swimming and diving.


To be eligible for the All-Academic team, student-athletes have to maintain a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average, be at least a sophomore academically and have had competed in at least half of their team’s contests.

In addition, five members of the UCI men’s water polo program have received All-Academic Awards from the Assn. of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches.

Seniors Andrew Dunn and Matt Garcia, along with sophomores Kyle Baxter, Greg Enloe and Jamie Frank were the recipients.

Student-athletes had to have a minimum grade-point average of 3.20 to be eligible for the award.

— From staff reports

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles