Youth sports

June 07, 2006




Angels win crown: The Newport Beach Little League Angels defeated the Cardinals, 9-3, to win the Majors championship on May 30.

Pitchers Tommy Bubonic and Evan Daniele held the Cardinals to only two or three hits, while Cort Hastings led the Angels at the plate, going three for three with a triple and scoring three runs.


The Angels jumped on top in the first inning when Hastings singled to left field. Matt English followed by driving him in with a double.

The Angels added to the lead in the third inning when Chris Evangelatos walked and Caden Stark slammed a double to right-center field. Hastings and English added consecutive singles to make it 4-0.

In the Cardinals' fourth inning, Jack Reed and Jeff Garrett walked and Brett Thompson followed with a double down the left-field line to drive in Reed. Two more runs scored on Scott McGowan's two-run single to pare the deficit to 4-3.

The score remained the same until the sixth inning, when the Angels' Parker Varner led off with a line shot down the first-base line.

Rob Rosenast followed with a single, and both players scored when Hastings ripped a triple. English then singled and Hastings scored on a wild pitch to extend the lead to 7-3.

The rally continued as Bubonic and Daniele had back-to-back doubles to make it 9-3.

The Cardinals were retired in order in their final at-bat, as the leadoff batter popped up to catcher Matt Van Rossem. Bubonic struck out the next two batters to clinch the title for the Angels.

Daniele allowed just one run in three innings.

Bubonic, who has been impressive in pressure situations all season, fanned six in the final three innings.

Mitch Meleski, Chase Forrest and Caymen Carter played strong defensively for the Angels.

Cardinals pitchers Grant Garrett, Spencer Bruno and Thompson combined for 10 strikeouts, and Bruno struck out the side in the fifth inning.

The Angels and Cardinals both advanced to the District 55 Tournament of Champions.

A presentation was made before the championship game recognizing two Majors players. Baron Brown of the Red Sox received the Sportsmanship Award. Andrew McCormack, a member of the White Sox, received the Rod Carew Award.

Yankees win AA Division: The Yankees defeated the Reds, 13-12, in the championship game Saturday.

The Yankees came back with seven runs in the sixth inning and final inning for the thrilling win.

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles