(Page 2 of 3)

Anteaters honor scholar-athletes

May 25, 2004

this year, becoming the first Anteater athlete to compete in an

indoor NCAA championship.

In outdoor track and field, she competed at the 2003 NCAA

championships, finishing 21st in the heptathlon.

Turpin is a graduate student in demographic and social analysis

after graduating from UCI with degrees in criminology, law and

society and psychology and social behavior last June. She is a


three-time Big West Scholar-Athlete and a two-time Big West Spring

All-Academic honoree. She earned Academic All-MPSF in indoor track

and field and was presented with the first annual Robert and Phyllis

Chichester Award.

Endrikat, a senior criminology, law and society major, is ranked

No. 22 nationally in doubles with partner Brian Morton and will

participate in the NCAA Doubles championships, Wednesday through May


Endrikat teamed with Morton to win the ITA So Cal regionals and

reached the semifinals of the 2003 ITA All-American tournament. He

also played in the 2003 ITA National indoors this fall. The duo is

11-5 overall this year.

Endrikat is a three-time first-team All-Big West honoree in

singles and doubles. The team captain has been ranked as high as No.

73 in singles in his career and is a two-time Big West Conference


Men's basketball player Matt Okoro and women's soccer player

Melody Mangrello received the University's Academic Challenge Award

from the UCI admissions office.

Women's volleyball player Dana Kurzbard and men's tennis player

Wkwesi Williams received the UCI Athletics Leadership Award, while

the men's tennis team accepted the Faculty Athletic Representative

Award for the highest team GPA. Kurzbard also garnered the second

annual Robert and Phyllis Chichester Award.

* The scholar-athletes:

Baseball -- Jimmy Alstot, Matt Falk, Michael Koehler, Nash

Robertson, Steve Schroer and Greg Wallis.

Men's basketball -- Aras Baskauskas, Nic Campbell, Jeff Gloger,

Ross Schraeder and Stan Zuzak.

Women's basketball -- Kristen Green, Katie Sturgeon and Joanna


Men's crew -- Lewis Baloian, Brock Beard, Arah Calafi, Jeffrey

Chang, Robert Christensen, Brad Cohn, Daniel Gromis, John Jacobsen,

Stephen Kelly, Joseph Lynch, Kevin Margulieux, Pedro Morgado,

Christina Quel, Scott Ritter, Joseph Russo, Neil Saigal, Robert Stone

and Jimmy Tong.

Women's crew -- Kaylen Amos, Elizabeth Barrett, Evelyn Caldwell,

Rebecca Estrada, Kristine Koo, Angelica Lara, Lorna Leopold, Erin

O'Donnell, Jessica Raney, Emilia Ravski, Audra Reed, Rachel Smith,

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles