Rowing: NAC wins Long Beach Christmas Regatta

December 08, 2000

LONG BEACH - Several rowing teams from the Newport Aquatic Center

raced to victory at the Long Beach Christmas Regatta on Sunday.

The varsity men's "A" eight team of Danny Hilton, Graham

Brand-Zawadski, John Zelser, Nolan Rousset, Peter Sims, Greg Everett,

Matt Elder, Dylan Wooters, and coxswain Jackie Brown took home the gold

in the 900-meter sprint.

Also taking first place was the varsity men's quad team of Hilton,


Sims, Zeiser and Elder, as well as varsity single Curtis Cook.

The varsity women's "A" eight of Anne Kircher, Kate Frank, Ariel

Jacobs, Emily Koestner, Chrissy Chamberlain, Hillary Ellis, Desiree

Taormina, Kate Mead and coxswain Robyn Bissonnette won their race by a

half-boat length, while the varsity quad took second by only .2 seconds.

On the novice side, the men's "A" eight of Brandon Dillman, Alex

Furra, Brian Booth, Steve York, Marshall Minogue, Cole St. Clair, Grant

Ginder, Drew Chaffe and coxswain Sean Childs placed first, while the "B"

eight took third.

The women's novice "A" eight of Jesse Ethel, Natalie Ekker-Stacy,

Meaghan Bunney, Alisia Ford, Aubrey Farmer, Olivia St. Clair, Jean

Geddes, Emily McCay and coxswain Lauren Lorman took the top spot.

The women's novice quad of Geddes, St. Clair, Bunney and McKay also

placed first.

Daily Pilot Articles Daily Pilot Articles